No compromise

Is there a time in your life where being independent changes you?
Is there a moment in time where you realize is ok not to be a partner?
When we turn our backs on the societal norm that we need to be part of two.
When does you heart finally understand that self love is enough?
Once you go there, once you no longer “need” another, can you go back?
Once you no longer have to take care of another adult,
When you no longer have to compromise, or check in, or care what anyone else thinks of your lifestyle.
How can you ever let go of that freedom once you’ve grasped it?
How do you return to a place of compromise? Not that I want to because today, I dont.
Maybe love allows us to give up some of our independence to allow another to join our world.
Maybe we compromise to be loved. Maybe we compromise to feel accepted. Maybe we compromise to be polite or kind.
I guess today, Im in a position emotionally that Im not willing to compromise.
I dont want to check in, I dont want to care for or be responsible for another adults feelings.
I dont want to share money, bills, time or space. Ive got to figure out how to do it on my own.
Ive become quite selfish when it comes to “my” life. I dont want to “go out.”
I dont want be nice, to save face.
I guess Im just gonna be a selfish bitch for a while. I’ve never been selfish before maybe its time.
I have a small circle of women that are precious to me and of course my family. But other than that, I’m keeping my space, living in my bubble, until I can figure out who and what I want to be.
And I am perfectly content without the complications of another.

One thought on “No compromise

Leave a comment